Grand Daddy I.U (@GrandDaddyIU) – My Neck of the Woods

1435205985883Grand Daddy IU is one of dopest emcees from the “Golden Era” of hip hop. But he is also one of tHe most slept on, he is not on most cats top 10 lists but IU repped just as hard as any of the other great emcees from that era. Born in Queens, NY and raised in Hempstead, Long Island. I.U was a part of one of the dopest crews ever in hip hop, The Mighty Mighty Juice Crew which included Big Daddy Kane, Biz Markie, Kool G. Rap, MC Shan, and Roxanne Shante. IU came with a smooth tone and clever lyrics his delivery was velvet, he also earned a reputation as the Barry White of rap with his baritone voice. Unfortunately one of his crew mates Big Daddy Kane was also known for his smooth style and deep voice so the comparisons were inevitable. To real hip hop heads IU had his own lane and was different from Kane. With such classics as “Something New”, “Sugar Free”, “Girl In The Mall”, and “This Is a Recording”. I.U. had a great run in tje early 90s he also collaborated with the hottest emcees in the game, Notorious B.I.G., Jay-Z, and Big L respectively. He also produced for KRS-ONE, Ice T, Heltah Skeltah, and the list goes on. Still his name is not frequently mentioned as one od the greats from yhe golden era of the 90s. To this day Grand Daddy I.U. is still making hard beats and spitting classic bars. In a world of Hip Hop where lyricism has taken a back seat to fashion, pre-school hooks, and off beat flows, he seeks to bring skills back to the forefront.

1435205924683

In 2015 I.U manages to stay in his lane while still making music that is relevant even today’s watered-down hip hop game. He still takes the long road instead of the convenient short route. With his new jaunt “My Neck of the Woods” featuring Shawn Haynes produced by Blunt is the latest video. On his new album P.I.M.P (Paper Is My Priority) he does what he does best. This jaunt is the essence of the classic New York hip hop sound, definitely something you all need to hear.

Something New – Grand Daddy I.U.


My Neck of The Woods – Grand Daddy I.U. featuring Shawn Haynes

Leave a Reply

